Free eBook: The 6 Laws Of Customer Experience

A few weeks ago I introduced the 6 laws of customer experience. Since then, I’ve written posts for each of the six laws. It turns out that these posts have had extremely high readership. So I decided to pull the content together in a mini book: The 6 Laws Of Customer Experience: The Fundamental Truths That Define How Organizations Treat Customers.

Since it’s not really a novel (only 11 pages), I’m giving it away for free. Just click on the picture of the cover. You can then print it out or save it to your computer. Go ahead and share this book(let) with as many people as you’d like. Spread the word!

The bottom line: Hopefully this book is worth more than its price.

About Bruce Temkin, CCXP
I'm an experience (XM) management catalyst; helping organizations improve results by engaging the hearts and minds of their employees, customers, and partners. I enjoy researching and speaking about these topics. I lead the Qualtrics XM Institute, which is the world's best job. We're igniting a global community of XM Professionals who are inspired and empowered to radically improve the human experience. To achieve this goal, my team focuses on thought leadership, training, and community building. My work is driven by a set of fundamental beliefs: 1) Everything starts and ends with human beings, so you need to understand how people think, feel, and behave; 2) XM is a discipline that needs to be woven throughout an organization's entire operating fabric; and 3) Building the XM discipline requires a combination of culture, competency, and technology.

66 Responses to Free eBook: The 6 Laws Of Customer Experience

  1. Mary Cronin says:

    Thanks, Bruce! A very thought-provoking summary of not-so-obvious truths. I just added your piece to the assigned reading list for my E-Commerce MBA course at Boston College. I expect that it will generate a stimulating discussion. Best, Mary Cronin

  2. Justin says:

    Bruce,

    Thanks for compiling this book. I’m sharing it with several people in our organization.

    Quick note: the link to your site in the upper right-hand corner of the PDF appears to be incorrect/broken.

  3. chris miller says:

    Bruce, this is great thanks for putting them together and handing them out. I’m sharing it with our organization and clients!

  4. Pingback: Las 6 leyes de la experiencia del cliente | Trikinhuelas

  5. Pingback: The 6 laws of customer experience « UXIdeas blog

  6. Hetty4 says:

    Thanks for compiling your thoughts in such an easy-to-share format. I immediately thought of a number of clients who could benefit from your common sense advice. I too will be sharing it with clients and colleagues.

  7. Pingback: 6 החוקים של חווית לקוח « על ניהול, ארגונים ואנשים

  8. Bruce Temkin says:

    Hi everyone:

    Thanks for the comments and the links on your blogs!

    There have already been several thousand downloads of the book. We definitely found a sweet spot with the pricing :-). I am also getting a lot of requests to share the book. My standing answer is: Go ahead and share it!

    A few people highlighted some minor typos on the book, so I’ve released updates. Version 7, which has been on the blog for most of the time, is the current version. But don’t worry, you may never notice the problems even if you have an older version.

    Given the amazing response from this initial effort, I’ll definitely be looking to publish more mini books in the future. So keep checking in.

    Bruce

    • Betsy Vavrin says:

      Bruce, Thanks you for sharing – at no cost to us – a unique and valuable perspective regarding the customer experience. This is an issue that is important to all of us in the business world, especially to those of us who develop and manage customer loyalty and retention programs. In addition, I will be sharing this with a friend and colleague managing a non-profit organization for child services in NC because she realizes that their employees and their donors – as well as those they serve – can all benefit from a good “customer” experience. These 6 laws will be helpful to her in her development efforts for future funding from donors and foundations, as well as getting her staff excited about delivering a good experience to those they assist. Thanks! BV

      • Bruce Temkin says:

        Hi Betsy: I’m so happy to hear that you will share the 6 laws with friend at NC child services. Non-profit organizations don’t often have a “loyalty” or “profit” motive equivalent to for-profits,but good customer experience is very often an integral requirement for delivering on their mission.

  9. This looks great. I’ll have to check this out in detail. My experience in developing brands has always led me back to the commitment of the employees, because they are truly the keepers of the brand.

    Anyway, great work.

  10. Pingback: Links - 3rd August 2008 « Curiously Persistent

  11. Pingback: Great Advice From IBM’s Former CEO « Customer Experience Matters

  12. Pingback: Handy Hints For Fixing Your Confusing Information Architecture « OnlineMarketerBlog

  13. Pingback: 4 Handy Hints For Fixing Your Confusing Website Design : Brazen Careerist - A Career Center for Generation Y

  14. Pingback: Improving the customer experience « Dispatches

  15. Pingback: La gestión del nuevo presidente « El Blog de José Manuel Castro

  16. Pingback: Marketing Personalization 2.0 « Propelling Brands

  17. Pingback: Marketing Eficiente » Blog Archive » Marketing Personalization 2.0

  18. Pingback: Die 6 Gesetze der Customer Experience | Kirschbaum Consulting

  19. Ann Gray says:

    Great! Thank you.–

  20. Jay Curry says:

    Lookimg forard to a download.

    Jay Curry

  21. Pingback: My Top 15 Posts In 2008 « Customer Experience Matters

  22. Pingback: Regelwerk » Kundenbetreuung in nachhaltig

  23. Pingback: From the Inside Out « Not The Droids You Are Looking For

  24. Do you have any objection to posting of this book on other sites? We are working on an email broadcast for a one to one marketer and would like to drive readers to this publication but would, of course, prefer to post it on their site with attribution to you and link to your blog site. Please let me know if that is acceptable.

    • Bruce Temkin says:

      If you keep the document in tact (no changes without my explicit approval) and provide a very prominent link to my blog, then I am okay with posting it on another site. But I reserve the right to have it pulled down if it is being mis-positioned or misused. My goal is to spread the word.

  25. Bruce, I completely understand. Contact me directly if you like and I will send you the site where it will be posted and the copy for the email broadcast that has the link in it.

  26. Joe Mason says:

    Thanks Bruce. Really enjoyed the no-nonsense approach here!

  27. Bruce, good to catch up with you again. We met when we both presented at a Blast Radius event in South Beach. I am the author of The Starbucks Experience and The New Gold Standard (about the legendary customer experience of The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company. I hop this post finds you well…. With enthusiasm

    tweeter.com/josephmichelli

  28. Roberto Piagentini says:

    Thanks Bruce. This book provide what is necessary to stat a good Customer Experience program. I’m working on it, like consultant, to write my final paper to get master degree in management Engineerng in Italy, and your book touches every points that I have to face inside the organizzation! It’s hard to change a 60k+ employers organization, when you are 25 years old! But I’m trying!
    Your book gave me a push to continue in my way of working, cause your ideas are very near to mine about CxP!

    • Bruce Temkin says:

      Roberto: Thank you so much for your post. I’m thrilled that you’ve found so much value in the book. Your feedback really motivates me to write more. Good luck with your CxP efforts!

      • Roberto Piagentini says:

        Surely, you have to write more, I found this book, and this site, very usefull. Good CeX follows a great study of your own enviroment, and after that, you have to do only what the good sense tell you, because all of us are customer ad we know how we like to be treated. But for me it’s foundamental to clarify my way of working, understanding how CeX is seen by more experienced people (like you). The topic is challanging.
        I hope to do a good job, since I have very few time!

        Good job.

  29. Pingback: Free Book: The 6 New Management Imperatives from Bruce Temkin « Fredzimny’s CCCCC Blog

  30. Pingback: How to reduce Price Discounting by increasing focus on Customer Experience « Protopartners’s Blog

  31. Pingback: My Customer Experience Favs Over 2 Years « Customer Experience Matters

  32. Pingback: UNITiD | Interaction Design & Usability» Blog Archive » Kwalitatieve diensten zorgen voor loyale klanten

  33. Stephen Jacobs says:

    Hi Bruce I am running a workshop next week in the UK (http://www.callcentre-expo.co.uk/page.cfm/Action=Seminars/SeminarID=26) and am going to send each delegate away with a copy of the 6 laws (assuming that’s OK with you!). What I love about the paper is it echoes the point I am trying to get across in the workshop that Great Customer Experiences aren’t about spending $millions on CRM systems and/or management consultants, that it is the small stuff that customers recognise and appreciate and that’s what drives loyalty.

    Kind regards

    Stephen

    • Bruce Temkin says:

      Stephen: That’s great. My goal is to get those insights to as many people as possible. All I ask is that you print it out as-is without any editing or alterations. Good luck with the workshop!

  34. Pingback: My Top Blog Posts In Q3, 2009 « Customer Experience Matters

  35. Pingback: Employees Are Key To Electronics Retailing « Customer Experience Matters

  36. Eric Jacques says:

    Hi Bruce,

    This booklet is great!

    I’m a Customer Satisfaction Manager in a software development company and part of my role is customer experience training and evangelisation. I’d really like to use this in my organization.

    To do this however, I’d have to translate it in French since we’re bilingual and some of our employees don’t speak/read English.

    I’d be willing to do the the translation and you could post it for other to reuse as you’ve done for the original.

    If you’re interested, contact me.

    Cheers
    Eric

  37. Pingback: Is Your Prospect Experience Costing You Sales?

  38. Pingback: Practical wisdom revisited « The Comparative Advantage

  39. Bruce – Great job on this. It’s so important to continue to discuss the small and big changes that are needed to improve customer experience. Thanks!

  40. Thank you,

    Just as we need to be intentional about our Brand, we must be intentional about our service.

    Thanks again

    Mark Allen Roberts

  41. Pingback: 6 Laws of Customer experience « Indian Customer Experience

  42. Jason says:

    This should be a necessary read for all in customer service. Great insights and thoughtful. I am going to forward this on, and read it again. Thanks.

  43. Pingback: 17 Ways to Give Customers the Warm Fuzzies | Deliver Bliss - The Business of Customer Experience

  44. Pingback: Bruce Temkin’s The 6 Laws of Customer Experience: The Fundamental Truths that Define how Organizations Treat Customers « The Window Outsight

  45. Pingback: Law #1: Every Interaction Creates a Personal Reaction « The Window Outsight

  46. Pingback: Law #2: People are Instinctively Self-Centered « The Window Outsight

  47. Pingback: Law #3: Customer Familiarity Breeds Alignment « The Window Outsight

  48. Pingback: The 6 laws of Customer Experience by Bruce Temkin « BIS Competence Center

  49. phconsulting says:

    Bruce – this is great, very concise and no wasted words. In particular I liked rules #4 & 5 about employee engagement as thisare probably the hardest parts to implement well. Thanks again for your insights.

  50. Ellen O'Neal says:

    Great read- thanks for compiling.

    I especially like Law #1: Often times customer service representatives are viewed as the bottom of the totem pole, but they are the face/voice of the company and they directly affect the customer’s satisfaction. For instance, the only way Verizon Wireless kept me as a customer was because Suzanne slashed my charges for going over my minute allowance. The overcharge was warranted, but because Suzanne was empowered to make a decision that cost Verizon $50 (the additional bill amount), Verizon in turn kept my business – I’m renewing my contract next month!

    I recently read a that discussed this specific Law. Forewarning: I work for LiveLogic and although I didn’t write this blog, I do also write for this company’s blog. http://info.livelogic.net/customer-intelligence-project-success/bid/46826/It-s-So-Simple-But-Few-Get-the-Customer-Thing

    Again, thanks for writing. Interesting thoughts!

  51. Hank says:

    Hey Bruce, this is really great info! I am planning on using this during some C.S. classes, and objections?? I, of course, will be taking all of the credit!! LOL (kidding)
    I plan on brining this to my servers and my hope is that they will actually take this to heart and bring the level of service up a notch or two!
    Thanks for the info, it is excellent!!

  52. kamran says:

    hi

    well I have a question that what is the difference b/w customer satisfaction and customer experience ?

    if we have a price sensitive market then should we spend more on customer services which requires more handling time to giving exceptional customer experience.

    Like if we talk about the helpline of telecom where we have to answer 150k plus calls every day then how we can keep our OPEX at bottom while giving good customer services

  53. Thank you for some other magnificent post. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal method of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m on the search for such information.

  54. Having read this I thought it was really enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this short
    article together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of
    time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  55. Louisa says:

    Hello from Zambia! Thank you for this great ebook download. I work for a domestic airline as their Customer Service Manager. I will be using your ebook in my training (all credits to you of course!) In an industry that has a bad rep of not caring for their customers I am always looking for ways to get our staff to enhance the customer experience. The information in your book will help me to share this with all staff in our airline (frontline and behind the scenes) in a way that will be easy to relate to. I especially like Laws 3&4.
    Looking forward to more mini books!

  56. Nick Davis says:

    Bruce – this is a fantastic booklet – I am a tutor and run an employability work skills course in the UK – I now use this as a way for my students (20 to 65) to understand the importance of good customer service and treating customers and collegues with the same quality and understanding

    This is also a good way for them to record customer service on their CV’s and if then asked in an interview about their customer service skills the have a better understanding of not only what they did but why and how it was successful

    I personally believe that good customer service includes your work collegues as well as your customers

    Thank you so much

    Nick Davis

Leave a Reply