What is Customer Experience? (Video)

Some years it’s difficult to decide on the content for my first post. But this year it was very easy. This new video is the perfect way to start off my blog in 2015.

In my recent post Customer Experience = Success + Effort + Emotion, I reiterated the definition of customer experience (CX): “the perception that customers have of their interactions with an organization.”

Written words are great, but I wanted people to fully understand the essence of CX, so I created this video, What is Customer Experience?

The bottom line: CX seems like a simple concept, but it’s often misunderstood.

About Bruce Temkin, CCXP
I'm an experience (XM) management catalyst; helping organizations improve results by engaging the hearts and minds of their employees, customers, and partners. I enjoy researching and speaking about these topics. I lead the Qualtrics XM Institute, which is the world's best job. We're igniting a global community of XM Professionals who are inspired and empowered to radically improve the human experience. To achieve this goal, my team focuses on thought leadership, training, and community building. My work is driven by a set of fundamental beliefs: 1) Everything starts and ends with human beings, so you need to understand how people think, feel, and behave; 2) XM is a discipline that needs to be woven throughout an organization's entire operating fabric; and 3) Building the XM discipline requires a combination of culture, competency, and technology.

4 Responses to What is Customer Experience? (Video)

  1. Moshe says:

    Thanks Bruce for this video. I will share it with my colleagues since there is indeed unclearity about the topic.

  2. Mike Galvin says:

    For over 6 years, I’ve been using the following definition on slides, in documents and in various client/prospect discussions:

    “The customer’s perception of their interactions with your company.”

    The point clearly is this: How dare we (a Retailer, Hotelier, Telco, Auto Manufacturer, Financial Services company, Technology company, CX/CEM or EFM vendor, etc.) seek to define CX when it is the customer’s definition that matters? Simply put, we don’t dare.

    Mike Galvin
    Director, Client Solutions – Retail
    Medallia, Inc.

  3. Michelle Romanica says:

    Excellent Bruce!
    Clarification of customer experience is so needed right now and you’ve offered a very clear impactful description here that will serve to guide people well.

  4. Agreed! This concept makes so much sense. If I love an organization’s products, design, process flow, and philosophy but them have a jarringly unpleasant customer service experience, the whole organization slips down a notch. It all matters.

Leave a Reply