Chick-fil-A Customers Are Young, Wealthy, Educated, And Healthy

Chick-fil-A has been in the news lately because of the company’s stance on gay marriage. Don’t worry, I’m not going to use this blog as a sounding board for that controversy. But all of that attention made me think about Chick-fil-A. It’s quite a fast food company. Compared with other fast food companies that we’ve examined, Chick-fil-A is:

Consumers seem to really love Chick-fil-A. So I took a look at their customers along with Burger King, KFC, McDonald’s, and Wendy’s. As the title of this blog states, Chick-fil-A customers are the youngest, wealthiest, most educated, and healthiest.

The bottom line: Politics aside, there’s no denying Chick-fil-A’s popularity

About Bruce Temkin
I am a customer experience transformist, helping large organizations improve business results by changing how they deal with customers. As part of this focus, I examine strategy, marketing, interaction design, customer service, and leadership practices. I am also a fanatical student of business, so this blog provides an outlet for sharing insights from my ongoing educational journey. Simply put, I am passionate about spotting emerging best practices and helping companies master them. And, as many people know, I love to speak about these topics in almost any forum. My “title” is Managing Partner of the Temkin Group, a customer experience research and consulting firm that helps organizations become more customer-centric. Our goal is simple: accelerate the path to delighting customers. I am also the co-founder and chair of the Customer Experience Professionals Association (CXPA.org), a non-profit organization dedicated to the success of CX professionals.

7 Responses to Chick-fil-A Customers Are Young, Wealthy, Educated, And Healthy

  1. I believe that simply stating “I am healthy,” is extremely subjective. :)

    • Bruce Temkin says:

      Shawn: I agree, it’s totally a subjective statement. We ask a number of questions like this in our survey to understand the attitudes of consumers, things like “I am financially secure,” “I am comfortable with technology,” and “I am typically happy.” Thanks for joining the conversation.

  2. Bruce, you cannot deny the other “hard” data, though. Very interesting, as usual.

  3. Pauline Hoffmann says:

    Hi Bruce!
    I am a student writing a paper on McDonald’s and it’s costumers, so I would really like to know more about the division of races, if it is possible to be more specific than ‘caucasian’? It is hard to find statistics specifically about that, but I thought you might have more data on that. I would really appreciate your help.
    Regards, Pauline :)

    • Bruce Temkin says:

      Pauline: We have a lot of data that’s broken down by ethnicity. Unfortunately, we are not in a position to provide data cuts for students (or for anyone other than our clients). Let me know what you are looking for specifically, and how it fits into your paper and your degree. We’ll see if it makes sense.

      • Pauline Hoffmann says:

        I need a statistics showing the distribution of ethnicities concerning who eat at McDonald’s in the US. My paper examines who their consumers are (when looking at social groups), comparing it to their target groups they appeal to in their commercials, in order to see if the actual consumers and the target groups are consistent. Therefore I analyze one of their commercials, to find out which audience they appeal to, and how they appeal to them. To compare the target group and the actual consumers, I need data on the consumers.
        I’m especially interested in knowing about the percentage of minorities such as Black and Hispanic, since McDonald’s appeal a lot to these two groups; they even have websites intended for Blacks (www.365black.com) and Latin-Americans/Hispanics (www.meencanta.com). That’s why it would be interesting to see how many Hispanics and how many Blacks eat at McDonald’s, so actually I’m just searching for a small elaboration on the statistics you already posted above.
        I study in Denmark, and I’m on my last year of gymnasium, which I suppose roughly corresponds to the last year of high school in the US. I primarily study languages and social studies, but I don’t have a degree in anything.

      • Bruce Temkin says:

        Sorry, we will not be able to provide you with that data…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,632 other followers

