Earn Trust To Gain Recommendations

We recently published the 2011 Temkin Trust Ratings. But why should companies care if their customers trust them? I think we all have a strong intuitive sense of the answer, but I decided to “run the numbers” and analytically look at how trust relates to one element of loyalty: the likelihood to recommend.

My analysis is based on a study of 6,000 US consumers and their relationships with 143 companies across 12 industries. Here’s what I found…

The data is pretty clear: consumers that trust companies are likely to recommend those companies, but they won’t recommend companies that they don’t trust.

The bottom line: If you want consumers to recommend you, then you need to first earn their trust 

About Bruce Temkin
I am a customer experience transformist, helping large organizations improve business results by changing how they deal with customers. As part of this focus, I examine strategy, marketing, interaction design, customer service, and leadership practices. I am also a fanatical student of business, so this blog provides an outlet for sharing insights from my ongoing educational journey. Simply put, I am passionate about spotting emerging best practices and helping companies master them. And, as many people know, I love to speak about these topics in almost any forum. My “title” is Managing Partner of the Temkin Group, a customer experience research and consulting firm that helps organizations become more customer-centric. Our goal is simple: accelerate the path to delighting customers. I am also the co-founder and chair of the Customer Experience Professionals Association (CXPA.org), a non-profit organization dedicated to the success of CX professionals.

One Response to Earn Trust To Gain Recommendations

  1. Thanks for this post Bruce. I think your study clearly demonstrates the importance of trust in building a pipeline of customer based referrals. Do you think the breakdown is as high for B2B markets? Specifically, I would be interested in seeing whether or not trust had as large of an impact in markets where the user and buyer persona were different people.

    Thanks,
    Brandon

Leave a Reply

