Obstacles To Customer Experience Success

In a previous post called Customer Experience Is Not Important Enough, we examined issues getting in the way of large companies. But how are large organizations different than smaller ones when it comes to customer experience?

To shed some light on that question, I compared survey data between organizations with 1,000 or more employees with those that have less than 1,000 employees. To provide some sense of the contrast, the larger group had an average of more than 13,000 employees while the the smaller group averaged a bit more than 200 employees.

Here’s what each group identified as being significant obstacles to their customer experience efforts.

Several things jump out from the data:

  • Other competing priorities is the key problem across all sizes of organizations
  • Lack of a clear customer experience strategy is also a universal problem
  • Larger organizations report having more problems than smaller ones do
  • Conflict across organizations is a much more significant problem with larger organizations

The bottom line: Make customer experience a”real” priority.

About Bruce Temkin
I am a customer experience transformist, helping large organizations improve business results by changing how they deal with customers. As part of this focus, I examine strategy, marketing, interaction design, customer service, and leadership practices. I am also a fanatical student of business, so this blog provides an outlet for sharing insights from my ongoing educational journey. Simply put, I am passionate about spotting emerging best practices and helping companies master them. And, as many people know, I love to speak about these topics in almost any forum. My “title” is Managing Partner of the Temkin Group, a customer experience research and consulting firm that helps organizations become more customer-centric. Our goal is simple: accelerate the path to delighting customers. I am also the co-founder and chair of the Customer Experience Professionals Association (CXPA.org), a non-profit organization dedicated to the success of CX professionals.

5 Responses to Obstacles To Customer Experience Success

  1. Great insights Bruce, thank you.I think that, for Customer Experience to be made a genuine priority for both large and small organisations, you have to measure and incentivise it from the very heart of the business.

    It strikes me that you could effectively deal with ‘we’ve got other priorities’ issue and the lack of a clear customer experience strategy by implementing a simple measurement process and then heavily publicising the results internally and setting targets to improve them.

    I’m an advocate of Verne Harnish’s business mangement method where he recommends having one or two key KPIs measured weekly or monthly throughout the entire company. If customer experience were one of these KPIs, it would bring both the strategic and the priority issues to heel.

  2. I have popped in to comment on this blog as I will be coming back here! Although a WordPress blogger myself I don’t normally look at the ‘business’ end of WordPress bloggers, my blog being a separate entity from my work life but one that I hope inflences my working and home life positively.

    I found your blog from your White Paper on The 6 Laws of Customer Experience. Customer retention and loyalty is a key theme for my Employer and I like this as a goal.

    Your white paper rang true to me because it emphasises the point that you cannot have an excellent Customer experience and loyalty without the engagement of Employees. Reading it felt true and sensible, that is the marker for me for something I will refer to again so that I can set my ‘internal’ goals to fit with the Company goals.

    So, thank you! I will be back to read more posts:)

    Lesley

  3. Customer experience is huge and I tend to see that there is a lack of strategy for most when it comes to dealing with customers, making sure they have the best overall experience, one that will keep them coming back!

  4. Pingback: Improve “Purposeful Leadership” In 2011 « Customer Experience Matters

  5. Pingback: Will The Customer Experience Bubble Burst In 2011? « Customer Experience Matters

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,633 other followers

