Which Customer Experience Topics Are Hot?

I like to look at how many people (Forrester clients) are reading my research reports. It helps me figure out the topics that people care about. So I decided to share some of that info in this post. These are my 15 most-read documents over the last 6 months [along with their publications dates]:

(Here are links to my complete list of research and my 2008 research agenda).

My take: Some observations about this readership…

  • Experience-Based Differentiation (EBD), the oldest piece of research on this list, remains a vibrant blueprint for customer experience excellence. I continue to get a lot of demand on this topic for speeches, workshops, and advisory sessions. I am very excited about my current research on “Customer Centric DNA” which will illuminate the third principle of EBD: “Treat customer experience as a competence, not a function.” Look for that to get published in late June.
  • Clearly the Forrester’s Customer Experience Index is hot, especially with three of our key industries: banking, insurance, and retail. We plan to repeat that research again this year, with even more industries.
  • Many companies are beginning to actively look at how to reach Gen Y. Our data shows that these consumers are quite different and relatively underserved across many industries.
  • One of my newer reports, The Business Impact Of Customer Experience, is getting a ton of readership because people are looking for quantitative proof (to reinforce their intuition) that customer experience is tied to loyalty. Well, this research shows that it is. So now it’s time for companies to get moving and make some improvements.
  • Customer experience remains a hot topic overall. I continue to have the highest level of readership at Forrester; the number of clients that read my research during the past 6 months was nearly 70% higher than the second analyst on the list.

The bottom line: If people keep reading, then I’ll keep writing.

About Bruce Temkin
I am a customer experience transformist, helping large organizations improve business results by changing how they deal with customers. As part of this focus, I examine strategy, marketing, interaction design, customer service, and leadership practices. I am also a fanatical student of business, so this blog provides an outlet for sharing insights from my ongoing educational journey. Simply put, I am passionate about spotting emerging best practices and helping companies master them. And, as many people know, I love to speak about these topics in almost any forum. My “title” is Managing Partner of the Temkin Group, a customer experience research and consulting firm that helps organizations become more customer-centric. Our goal is simple: accelerate the path to delighting customers. I am also the co-founder and chair of the Customer Experience Professionals Association (CXPA.org), a non-profit organization dedicated to the success of CX professionals.

3 Responses to Which Customer Experience Topics Are Hot?

  1. Ola says:

    Customer experience index is the most popular.. whats interesting its results are similar but diffrent than in American Customer Satisfation Index (ACSI). Maybe different methodology explains that (in here you udes sth similar to net promoter score and threee categories?) not only different group of respondents

  2. Bruce Temkin says:

    We use a different methodology (survey design, data collection, industries covered, and analysis) than the ACSI (www.theacsi.org), so it’s not surprising that the rankings aren’t exactly the same. You’ll likely find differences with other methodologies like JD Power (www.jdpower.com) as well. Our CxPi is an uniquely focused on overall customer experience; addressing the three key aspects of experience: usefulness, ease of use, and enjoyability.

    Having said that, companies can probably learn something from all well-contructed consumer surveys.

  3. Pingback: pligg.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,845 other followers

